ICOH Board election – 2018 till 2021. South Africa Candidates

ICOH Board election – 2018 till 2021. South Africa Candidates


If you receive the ballot papers please support the South-Africa ICOH members as candidates.

The 2 South-Africa Members of the International Commission on Occupational Health (ICOH) need to be elected to the Board for the next 3-year cycle 2018 to 2021.

Their CV’s were copied from the ICOH website http://www.icohweb.org/site/election-tenure-2018-2021.asp.

  1. Vice President – Claudina NOGUEIRA – SOUTH AFRICA

Curriculum Vitae
Qualifications: Claudina M C A Nogueira holds BSc, BSc (Hons) and MSc (Medical Biochemistry) degrees from the University of the Witwatersrand in Johannesburg, South Africa (SA), and BEBOH (UK) Modules in Occupational Hygiene.
Experience: Claudina has worked in the broad occupational health field for the past 27 years in various capacities and is currently employed as a contract Project/Data Manager in the Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Pretoria, SA. Research interests include metal toxicity, chemical exposures, mineral dusts and fibres, molecular epidemiology and toxicology, education and training in occupational and environmental health, and occupational health and safety in the mining sector.
Current Affiliations: ICOH Board member (2012-2015; 2015-2018); member and secretary of ICOH WG OIA; member of ICOH SC MinOSH; ExCo member of the SA Society of Occupational Medicine (SASOM); Council member of the Southern African Institute for Occupational Hygiene (SAIOH); and Board member of Workplace Health Without Borders (WHWB).

M. Fingerhut (USA), M. Hogan (Ireland), M. Sim (Australia), R. Facci (Brazil), K. Jones (United Kingdom), W. Buchta (USA), J. Takala (Finland), J. Rantanen (Finland), M. Ross (South Africa), S. Iavicoli (Italy), F. M. Fischer (Brazil), S. K. Kang (Republic of Korea), M. Coombs (South Africa), D. Kocks (South Africa), C. M. De Hoyos (Argentina) and others.


  1. Board Member – Louwna PRETORIUS – SOUTH AFRICA

Curriculum Vitae
Louwna Pretorius is employed as the National Occupational Health Services (Safety, Health, and Environmental) Manager at Corobrik, Pty (Ltd), Edenvale, South Africa.
She obtained a B. Soc. Sc. Hon. Degree (General / Midwifery/ Psychiatry) from the University of the Free State and completed additional qualifications in Community Health Nursing, Nursing Education, Occupational Health Nursing and Health Services management.
She has been actively involved in the industry for the past 30+ years. Her main responsibilities include facilitation of learning, auditing and consulting on Occupational Safety / Health/ Environment as part of an integrated SHE approach. (OHSAS 18001, ISO 14001).
She represents SASOHN as president (1999-2002) served at SCOHN executive (secretary/ vice chairperson & chairperson 2009- 2015).She was a member to the SA Nursing Council (2003 – 2008) and is a founder member of ANSA.(Academy of Nursing South Africa).

S. Iavicoli (Italy), K. Nishida (Japan), C. Nogueira (South Africa), D. Kocks (South Africa), M. Fingerhut (USA), K. Davies (South Africa), S. Randolph (USA), S. K. Kang (Republic of Korea), H. Hirdi (Hungary), K. Lappalainen (Finland), R. Facci (Brazil), M. Bubas (Croatia).


Daan Kocks

SASOM – Chair

Share the Post