The aims of the Society are:

To protect and promote the health of workers by preventing and controlling occupational diseases and accidents and by eliminating occupational factors and conditions hazardous to health.

Development and promotion of healthy and safe work, work environments and work organisations. Enhancement of physical, mental and social well-being of workers and support for the development and maintenance of their working capacity, as well as professional and social development at work.

Enablement of workers to conduct socially and economically productive lives and to contribute positively to sustainable development.

To acquire accreditation of continuing professional development activities through the various Seminars/Workshops and the Occupational Health Southern Africa Journal (official journal of SASOM)

To develop Occupational Medicine as a distinct and recognised multi-disciplinary activity.

To contribute to national and international occupational health strategies and policies.

In an effort to achieve their objectives the Society provides

National and international seminars, educational workshops and conferences
Establishment of various scientific committees based on the ICOH scientific committees.
Input on occupational health legislation
Guardian for the ethical and medical standards of occupational medical practitioners.
Expanding your knowledge and even your practice with our occupational health guidelines.
Networking with other practitioners, specialising in various fields nationwide and, through our national database.
Bi-monthly accredited journal, Occupational Health Southern Africa, which is a joint venture of SOUTH AFRICAN SOCIETY OF OCCUPATIONAL MEDICINE (SASOM); South African Society of Occupational Health Nurses (SASOHN) and The Southern African Institute for Occupational Hygiene (SAIOH)

Through its networking capability, SASOM provides support to a variety of specialist groups in the field of Occupational Health and Environmental Medicine.

Click here to download SASOM’s constitution: Constitution 2010